livewritepray.com

Capturing life in words…

Seeking Feedback: Do you publish under a pseudonym?

In finally pursuing my passion in writing, I am being smart–I take the advice from those more experienced than I. Humility allows for wisdom and growth. For example, one author told me, “… to improve: write, write and write some more. And then when you are sick of writing, read, read, read!” This has proved fruitful. For example in as a little as a month, I re-read a blog entry and nearly vomited.

20130927-074236.jpg

So once again, I come before the public and ask those more experienced: Pseudonym? Yes or No? And please tell me your reason for or against using a pseudonym.

The other piece to this puzzle in my ever evolving mind– do certain unwritten rules apply when choosing a pseudonym? I have done some research on the internet, yet I would love to hear personal comments from the folks I read and admire on WordPress.

Thank you for your thoughts.

(Photocredit: Photobucket)

6 comments on “Seeking Feedback: Do you publish under a pseudonym?

  1. Arphaxad
    September 27, 2013

    awesome topic, unfortunately I have nothing to add, but will want to see what others say. I am not a published author but have wondered on this topic myself.

    • L M McCormick
      September 27, 2013

      I have heard it has pros and cons. (Pros you can retain anonymity, write in different genres without the reader being biased. Cons include, you are not able to interview & promote a book if you write as a different gender). I am interested in personal thoughts …

  2. reinventionofmama
    September 27, 2013

    I’ll be watching this one like a hawk!

    • L M McCormick
      September 27, 2013

      I know!! I may have to write the ones I know who have published directly… people are busy or shy today. 😉

  3. Gaye Drady
    October 1, 2013

    Hello LInda, I have not had a book published, but I have started writing a book. If this book gets to the publishing stage and is accepted, I will use a pseudonym, only because I wish to protect my husband and children (the book will be about how I lived with a problem gambler and survived – I want my story to help others). But I used to write articles for magazines about camping/nature/travelling under my own name. So, to me, the use of a pseudonym is only for protection of others in my life, otherwise I would be proud to put my own name to the work.
    Regards, Gaye

  4. L M McCormick
    October 1, 2013

    Exactly. That is how I feel. I will use a pseudonym for issues surrounding those I love … however, as you state, other non-emotional issues I will use my own name. On here I use my mother’s name. I do it in part, because I miss her and want to honor her (she is deceased). However, for formal publication, I will use my legal name.
    Thank you, my friend, for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2013 by in Writing and tagged , , , , .
